Interface Design

Unit 5 Reading Response

Chapter 8. “The Farmer and the Cowman Should Be Friends”

I think the author’s little comic about pull down menus was very on key and humorous. I could definitely see that happening on a day to day basis in website development. I thought that the layout of a website would solely be the designer’s responsibility. I didn’t realize that it had to be approved and negotiated with the marketing and developing team. I think it’s ironic that the author states that “there are no simple ‘right’ answers” and then ends with a very long, complicated question like “Does this pull down, with these items and this wording…create a good experience.”

Here’s a link to other comics that convey the daily struggles of being a designer.

Chapter 9. Usability testing on 10 cents a day: Keeping testing simple—so you do enough  of it

This chapter focused more on Usability and I think if I was going to become an UX designer this information would be very help, but I not. The author did have a section in the chapter about Doing-It-Yourself, which I support. I think it’s more reasonable to do the testing yourself than hire a huge group for user testing. It saves you more time and money,as well as pinpoint the areas that need fixing faster.

Did you know there’s an actual website to do user testing?  

Standard

Leave a Reply

