Interface Design

Unit 8 Reading Response

Tale Of A Top-10 App, Part 1

The article is about an app designer and how he managed to create a “top-10 app” that “beat Angry Birds.”  Right off the start I knew that this was going to be an interesting read. I love how he used the Thomas Edison metaphor to help the audience understand his experience. You don’t have to start from scratch, just look at the resources you have all around you. I really wanted him to announce what the app. The one that his team first developed, Grades, was one I’ve never heard of before. I thought that the article was going to be fresh and exciting but it turned out to be complied of old lectures I’ve already went though: Competitive Analysis, User Personas, User Experiences, etc. It even references Don’t Make Me Think by Steve Krug. Then I was disappointed when I actually found out what his app actually was. I mean when you mention being a top-10 app, I was expecting to be amazed. That it was something elaborate and original, not a basic dictionary of different languages.

Tale Of A Top-10 App, Part 2

I really don’t know how that second part is relevant to project three. It talked about about marketing, networking,etc. Sure, it’d be nice to know these things if I was actually creating a real app but I’m just designing one.

The Links

15 Best iPhone Apps You’re Not Using by Laptop

The Top 5 Trends in App Design for 2015 by Creative Bloq

Ninjawards 2015 By Cubicle Ninja 

Standard

Leave a Reply

